John Myburgh SC
John Myburgh SC
TEL : 2711 290-4000
FAX : 2711 783-6334
CELL : 083 380 0892

John Myburgh SC

John matriculated from Capricorn High School in 1963 where he was a school prefect and head of house.

Attended the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg from 1965 to 1969. Chairman of the House Committee of Men’s Residence (1968). Deputy Vice-President of Student Representative Council (1968 to 1969). Graduated with BA LLB degrees.

Admitted to practise as an advocate in 1970. Prosecuted in the Department of Justice, initially in the Magistrate’s Courts and later in the Supreme Court in Kwa-Zulu Natal (1970 to 1971).

Commenced practice at the Johannesburg Bar as an advocate in January 1972. Became a Senior Counsel in November 1986. Member of the Johannesburg Bar Council for a number of years both as junior and senior counsel. Chairman of Bar Council 1990 to 1991. Acted as a judge of the High Court in Johannesburg in August and September 1988.

Received a permanent appointment as a High Court judge in December 1991. Included in duties as judge:

  • member of the Commercial Court;
  • ad hoc chairman of Labour Appeal Court;
  • chairman of Electoral Appeal Tribunal for the Transvaal during the first democratic election in April 1994.

Judge President of the Labour Appeal Court and Judge President of the Labour Court from 16 April 1996 to 14 January 1999.

In 1996 was the sole member of Judicial Commission of Enquiry into “The Recent Violence and Occurrences at the East Driefontein, Leeudoorn and the Northam Mines”.

Visiting Professor of Law, University of the Witwatersrand, 2002 – 2003.

Past trustee of the Wits Law School Endowment Appeal.

President, South African Law Society for Labour Law, 1998 to 2000, 2002 – 2003.

Member of Management Committee of Anglogold Ltd from 15 January 1999 to 28 February 2001.

Member of the Johannesburg Bar since 1 March 2001, specialising in commercial arbitrations and mediations, conducting confidential enquiries; and dispute resolution. A CEDR accredited mediator.

Chairman of the board of directors of the Ombudsman for Banking Services (2002 to date).

Chairman of Tokiso Dispute Settlement (Pty) Ltd, a company specialising in dispute resolution (2001 – 2008).

July to November 2001: commissioner appointed in terms of s69A of the Banks Act into the collapse of Regal Treasury Private Bank Ltd. The report is available on request at the following e-mail address:

January to June 2002: chairman of the Commission of Inquiry into the rapid depreciation of the Rand. The report is available at the following web address:

August 2002 – March 2003: conducted a review of the corporate governance of the five biggest South African banks in terms of s7 of the Banks Act, 1990. The report is available at the following web address:

August 2003 to May 2004: engaged as inspector in the investigation into the Corpcapital Group of Companies in terms of 258(2) of the Companies Act.

Chairman of the (Sasol) September 2004 Accident Trust 2006 – 2009.

Chairman of the Dispute Resolution Board (DRB) for the Gautrain Rapid Rail Link: (March 2007 to June 2012).

Chairman of the board of directors of The Ombudsman for Short-Term Insurance (2012-2014).